Of the many people throughout the world who regularly participate in social dancing, there are some who are attracted to taking part in organized DanceSport competitions held locally in their area. Here in WA Championships are held on a monthly basis. Competition dancing is a form of DanceSport dancing that has evolved from social dancing and medalists. It attracts people who love to dance, and who have the urge to show their skill and talent in direct competition with other couples on the dance floor, and if you are ready for something a little more glamorous and exciting then it?s time to get competitive.

There are two main international styles of DanceSport are:

  • Standard (Which used to be called "Modern")

  • Latin American

At each Competition separate events are held for Standard and Latin dances as the two styles are so different. The differences are particularly reflected by the costumes worn by the dancers during these competitions. Ladies dresses worn for the Standard dances are long and flowing, to enhance the movements created during these dances and the Gentlemen wears a Suit of Tails. In contrast, the dresses worn by the Ladies for the Latin dances are designed to show the movements of the individual body parts used to interpret the various Latin rhythms. The Gentlemen wearing fitted long pants with a fitted or loose shirt to match.

Standard Dances are: Modern Waltz, Quickstep, Foxtrot, Viennese Waltz and Tango

Latin Dances are: Rumba (the dance of Love), Cha Cha Cha, Samba, Jive and the Paso Doble (dance of the Matador)

There is also a third style of DanceSport which is completely Australian, it is called:  New Vogue

Unlike the Standard Ballroom and Latin American styles of dancing, New Vogue is a sequence style of dancing. Everyone on the dance floor dances the same steps together. Thus making these dances easy to learn, and enjoyable. Many mature people prefer this type of dancing, but it also is popular at social Cabarets where there are large numbers of dancers on the floor, of mixed ages, who can follow easily the person in front of them.

New Vogue Dances are: Evening 3-step, Merrilyn, Parma Waltz, Gypsy Tap, Swing Waltz, Carousel, Tangoette, La Bomba, Charmaine, Lucille, Twilight, Barclay Blues, Tango Terrific and Excelsior.

Age Groups for Dancers in Australia

DanceSport caters for all ages.

  • Juvenile (under 13 years)

  • Junior (13-15 years)

  • Youth (16-19 years)

  • Adult (16-34 years)

  • Masters 1 (35-49 years)

  • Masters 2 (50+ years)

  • Professional (16 years and over)

Each age group is further broken down into performance levels according to their number of championships or competition wins...The levels range from Level 5 (the top level) to Level 1 (beginner level).

Couples must complete five elevation marks before elevating from one level to another. This will be common to all Levels and all Age Groups

There is a restricted syllabus (which means not all dance sequences are allowed to be performed) for the following sections:

Juvenile Grades
Junior, Adult and Masters 1 & 2

Juvenile competitors are required to comply with a separate dress code, that is they are not permitted to wear full dress costumes.

Junior, Adult and Masters 1 & 2, Level 1 wear non-competitive attire.

So whether you dance socially or compete for fun or personal satisfaction, your can pursue your ambitions to an elite dancer. DanceSport has the criteria to cater for all participants as an exciting and rewarding pastime, as well as a competitive sport.

Copyright 2009 DSWA